S.Rajam’s (Music Appreciation notes)

Monday, 6 February 2017

Veena Seshanna Memorial Awards

Every year Bangalore-based Swaramurthy V.N. Rao Memorial Trust conducts “Veeneyabedagu”, music festival in memory of Veena Seshanna. This time, it was held at Udupi, Karnataka from 18 to 20 November 2016, under the joint auspices of Sri Paryaya Pejawara Adhokshaja Mutt. The Veena Seshanna Memorial National Award was presented to D. Balakrishna by Sri Vishwesha Teertha Swamijee, and the Swaramurthy V.N. Rao Memorial National Award to Bombay Jayashri by Dr. Veerendra Heggade, Dharmadhikari of Dharmasthala. Each award carries a purse of one lakh rupees, a bust of Veena Seshanna and a shawl. 

The festival was followed by five music concerts including the awardees D. Balakrishna (veena) and Bombay Jayashri (vocal). The other concerts featured N. Vijay Siva (vocal), Bangalore Brothers—Ashok and Hariharan (vocal) and Herambha and Hemantha (flute). A workshop was also held on the compositions of Veena Seshanna under the direction of R.N. Tyagarajan (one of the Rudrapatnam Brothers).

The Festival was held under the leadership of Prof. Mysore V. Subramanya, great grandson of Veena Seshanna, and Chairman and Managing Trustee of Swaramurthy V.N. Rao Memorial Trust.

No comments:

Post a Comment