S.Rajam’s (Music Appreciation notes)

Tuesday, 18 July 2017

Ravikiran selected for Sangita Kalanidhi award

By Samudri

Sruti congratulates all the artistes selected for the Music Academy's awards for the forthcoming annual conference to be held in December 2017. The jewel in the crown, the Sangita Kalanidhi title goes to the chitravina maestro N Ravikiran, a brilliant choice in our view, while a number of distinguished artists will be the worthy recipients of the other awards announced by the Academy. They are:

To be awarded on 1 January 2018

Sangita Kala Acharya

Mridanga vidwan V Kamalakar Rao, and vocalist and guru Radha Namboodiri      
TTK Awards

Ghatam vidushi Sukanya Ramgopal and Oduvar Muthu Kandasamy Desikar   

Musicologist Award

Vocalist Dr TS Sathyavathi                                                                                             

Papa Venkataramiah Award

Violinist Tiruvallur Parthasarathy                                                                          

To be awarded on 3 January 2018

Nritya Kalanidhi

Bharata natyam exponent Lakshmi Viswanathan                                                           

While we congratulate the Music Academy on replacing the title Natya Kala Acharya with the Nritya Kalanidhi award, a welcome paradigm shift towards a more comprehensive, more appropriate norm for the award, we urge the institution to find ways of recognising outstanding contributors to dance. The name of Vyjayantimala Bali comes to mind, but she is one of numerous such greats of the past. On the whole, a great job by the Music Academy. 

No comments:

Post a Comment