S.Rajam’s (Music Appreciation notes)

Sunday, 1 April 2018

Honours and awards for artists

Prof S. Rajeswari, retired Principal of the Tamil Nadu Government Music College, was honoured by Sahana Fine Arts in Mogappair. The title of Isai Chudaroli was conferred on the Carnatic musician by Natya Kalanidhis Shanta and V.P. Dhananjayan on 7 January 2018. The Dhananjayans paid rich tribute to the awardee and described her as an all-rounder—a concert singer, excellent teacher, musicologist, and composer who has the special qualification of singing with aplomb and conducting a Bharatanatyam performance. They also recalled how connoisseurs would throng to watch Kamala—the doyen of Bharatanatyam—and listen to S. Rajeswari ‘s excellent vocal accompaniment.

A good crowd attended the event and the Carnatic vocal concert by S. Rajeswari who was accompanied by Usha Rajagopalan (violin) and Tanjavur Subramaniam (mridangam).

This is the ninth year that Sahana Fine Arts is conducting a music and dance festival. Next year being the tenth, the convenor, violinist Arun Karthik, announced that a ten-day art festival would be held to mark the occasion, which was welcomed with applause by the audience. <>

Book on Bengaluru Nagarathnamma

Thyagarathna—Kapilai Kadalil Sangamithal—a novel based on the life of Bengaluru Nagarathnamma, written by Kalyani Venkataraman, was released on 5 January at Tiruvaiyaru, at saint Tyagaraja’s shrine. Bhageerathi, wife of the late Kunnakudi Vaidyanathan and member of the Nagarathnamma Committee, released the book. Published by Nijaguna Foundation, Kollegal, and priced at Rs. 350, it is a translation in Tamil of the Kannada book titled Kapilé HaridaLu Kadaligé written by Prof. Maleyuru Guruswamy of Mysore. <>

Shri Purandaradaasar Trust honoured Carnatic musicians T.V. Ramprasadh, Carva C.A. Rajasekar, and R. Ramesh with the Dasa Kala Rathna awards, organiser S. Rajaraman with the A.R. Kannan Memorial award, mridangist Sengottai A. Rajamani with the R.N. Ganesan Memorial award, vocalist Amritha Murali with the G.N.B. Memorial award and young musicians R.D. Adharsh and M. Anandhulal, on 10 March in Chennai. The Bombay Sisters presented the awards and presided over the sixth anniversary celebrations of the Samajam. <>

Bharatanatyam dancer and teacher Indira Kadambi received the Vidhya Tapasvi award instituted by Tapas Cultural Foundation, Chennai, from Dr. R. Nagaswamy and N.S. Jayalakshmi on 18 February 2018. <>

At the 22nd edition of the Sangit Kala Kendra Awards function, C. Vidyasagar Rao, Governor of Maharashtra, presented the Aditya Vikram Birla Kalashikhar Puraskar 2017 to Prabha Atre, veteran Hindustani vocalist. The Aditya Vikram Birla Kalakiran Puraskars were presented to Anol Chatterjee and Sawani Shende Sataye.

No comments:

Post a Comment