Saturday, 16 June 2018

ABHAI awards 2018

On the occasion of its 30th anniversary, ABHAI -- Association of Bharatanatyam Artistes of India, honoured several senior artists on 1 May at an elegant function organised at Vani Mahal in Chennai. The invocation was rendered by dancer and musician Ananthasree. This was followed by a group dance choreographed by dancer Binesh Mahadevan and presented by 30 dancers to signify ABHAI's 30th anniversary.

The prestigious Natya Kalanidhi awards were presented to veteran dance gurus Sudharani Raghupathy and Padma Subrahmanyam (in absentia). Senior Bharatanatyam dancers and teachers Jayanthi Subramaniam and J. Suryanarayana Murthy received the Nritya Perunjothi and Narthaka Nipuna awards respectively. The Gandharva Nipuna award was presented toveena vidwan Mudicondan S.N. Ramesh. The awards were given away by chief guest Sangita Kalanidhi Umayalpuram  K. Sivaraman.

The award ceremony was followed by a group presentation in Bharatanatyam of a varnam learnt during the summer workshop conducted by senior dancer-guru Sathyanarayana Raju in 2017.

No comments:

Post a Comment