Tuesday, 24 May 2022

Press Release: The Music Academy announces Sangita Kalanidhi and other awards

The Executive Committee of The Music Academy has decided to give Sangita Kalanidhi and other awards for the two missed years 2020 and 2021 also along with the current year's awards. It may be recalled that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Academy had conducted only shortened online annual festivals in 2020 and 2021 and this year, physical festivals are planned for both Music and Dance with all their features. 

At its meeting held today, 22nd May 2022, the Executive Committee of the Music Academy unanimously decided on the following awards: 


"Sangita Kalanidhi" 

2020 - Neyveli R. Santanagopalan, a renowned vocalist and guru; 

2021 - Tiruvarur Bhakthavathsalam, an eminent mridangam artiste and guru; 

2022 - Lalgudi violin duo, G.J.R.Krishnan and Vijayalakshmi, torch-bearers of the Lalgudi lineage of violinists and renowned performers. 

Sangita Kala Acharya: 

2020 - Kivalur N.G.Ganesan - noted nagaswaram exponent; 

2021 - Dr Ritha Rajan - highly respected vocalist, musicologist and guru; 

2022 -- Dr R.S. Jayalakshmi - renowned Vainika, musicologist and guru. 

T.T.K. Award: 

2020 - Thamarakkad Govindan Namboodri - noted vocalist and guru; 

2021 - Nemani Somayajulu - versatile percussionist -mridangam and jalatarangam; 

2022 - A.V.Anand - noted Kanjira artiste. 

Musicologist Award: 

2022 - Dr V. Premalatha 

The Honourable Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Thiru. MK Stalin has kindly consented to be the Chief Guest and inaugurate the 96th Annual Conference and Concerts on December 15, 2022. 

DANCE AWARD: Nritya Kalanidhi 

2020 - Rama Vaidyanathan -- Leading Bharatanatyam exponent; 

2021 - Narthaki Nataraj -- Acclaimed Bharatanatyam artiste; 

2022 - Bragha Bessell -- Widely respected Abhinaya expert and guru. 

The Music Festival will be held as usual from December 15, 2022, to January 1, 2023, and the Dance Festival from January 3, to January 9, 2023. 

No comments:

Post a Comment